NEW DELHI: Maldaha Uttar constituency in West Bengal is gearing up for voting in the 2nd phase on April 26th, as part of the ongoing general elections in the state. West Bengal is slated to witness polling in all seven phases, spanning from April 19th to June 1st, to elect 42 members of the Lok Sabha.
The election results will be announced on June 4th, 2024.Reflecting on the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) secured victory with 22 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) gained ground with 18 seats. The Indian National Congress (INC) managed to hold onto two seats.
In the upcoming elections for the Maldaha Uttar constituency, key contenders include Mostaque Alam of the INC, Khagen Murmu representing the BJP, and Prasun Banerjee from the AITC.
In 2019, the Maldaha Uttar parliamentary constituency hosted 1,685,955 electors. From this pool, a total of 1,354,706 valid votes were cast. Emerging victorious was Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Khagen Murmu, who clinched victory with 509,524 votes. Trailing behind was All India Trinamool Congress candidate Mausam Noor with 425,236 votes, falling short by 84,288 votes.
In the 2014 elections, the Maldaha Uttar parliamentary constituency saw 1,425,428 electors. Of these, 1,162,985 votes were deemed valid. Indian National Congress candidate Mausam Noor triumphed with 388,609 votes, while Communist Party of India (Marxist) candidate Khagen Murmu secured 322,904 votes, trailing by 65,705 votes.
The main political parties contending for seats in West Bengal include the AITC, BJP, and a coalition of Left Front and Indian National Congress.
Meanwhile, the model code of conduct, implemented since March 16th, will remain in force until the conclusion of vote counting on June 4th.

Source link